What Happens When You Get Multiple DUIs in West Virginia?

A judge's gavel sitting next to a shot glass with liquor in it and a car key.

In late November, a West Virginia man was charged with multiple driving under the influence (DUI) offenses after leading police on a car chase and crashing into a squad car. According to WDTV, the DUI car chase began when the man fled from police in his vehicle.

After he fled, he was pursued by the Summersville Police Department, West Virginia State Police, and Nicholas County Sheriff’s Department. He was eventually spotted heading north in the southbound lanes of U.S. Route 19. His vehicle reportedly struck at least two others as he continued to evade law enforcement. The chase ended when the man’s vehicle collided head-on with a Summersville PD patrol car.

Fortunately, no one was injured in the incident. The man was arrested and charged with fleeing while driving under the influence and DUI second offense.

At the time of this report, law enforcement was still investigating the incident.

What Are the Punishments for Getting Multiple DUIs in West Virginia?

The penalties for a first DUI are severe. The punishments for a second and third DUI are even worse. The following are the penalties for multiple DUIs in West Virginia:

  • First DUI – Up to six months in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and having license revoked for up to six months.
  • Second DUI – Up to a year in jail, up to $3,000 in fines, and having license revoked for up to 10 years.
  • Third DUI – Up to five years in jail, up to $5,000 in fines, and possibly having license revoked for life.

Facing DUI Charges in West Virginia? Speak with Our Experienced DUI Defense Lawyers in Berkeley County Today!

At Sutton & Janelle, PLLC, we have been defending the rights of people accused of DUI in West Virginia and Maryland for over 20 years. Plus, our legal team has more than 70 years of combined experience. As a boutique law firm, we only take a limited number of cases, so when you’re our client, your case will always be a top priority.

Our experienced DUI defense attorneys will be there every step of the way to fight for your rights the same way we would if one of our loved ones was in the same situation. We have a long history of helping clients secure the most favorable outcomes possible for their situation, including getting their charges reduced or dismissed.

For more information about Sutton & Janelle, PLLC, read our clients’ reviews.

To learn more about DUI defense in West Virginia and Maryland, or to discuss your case with our experienced DUI defense lawyers in Berkeley County, call us at (304) 867-0049 or contact us online today for a free, no-obligation consultation.

Related Posts
  • Underage DUI: What Happens if My Child Is Arrested for DUI in West Virginia? Read More
  • How Do I Get My Driver’s License Reinstated After a DUI in West Virginia? Read More
  • Can I Be Arrested for DUI in West Virginia if I’m Sitting in a Parked Car? Read More