Multiple DUIsAre You Facing a DUI?
Legal Defense for Multiple DUI Charges in Berkeley County
West Virginia Multiple DUI Laws
At Sutton & Janelle, PLLC we work tirelessly to provide you with access to the solutions available to you under the law, and to help you move toward the best possible resolution for your DUI case in West Virginia. When facing a repeat DUI accusation or conviction, you may feel as if the deck is stacked against you. To stand alone in your trial is to ensure your future is left unprotected. Our attorneys in Berkeley County give you a voice when you don't know where to turn. You have options. Let us guide you to them.
Contact Our Criminal Defense Team
What Happens on Your Third DUI?
The consequences of a third DUI charge can have a dramatic effect on one's life. Those who have been accused of three or subsequent DUIs will likely benefit from the assistance of experienced criminal defense attorneys in Martinsburg as they seek resolutions that serve their best interests.
Consequences for Criminal Charges Continue to Get Worse, and Can Include:
- Felony charges
- Increased jail time
- Heavy fines
- Permanent marks on your record
- Difficulty getting jobs and applying for housing
- Long-term damage to your reputation
- Mandatory participation in drug & alcohol rehabilitation programs
- Loss of driver's license, either temporarily or permanently
- Other substantial freedom losses, including vehicle impoundment
What are the Penalties for a Third DUI?
Anyone accused of a third DUI may face felony charges. And fighting a third DUI charge can be difficult in West Virginia. Authorities do not take such cases lightly.
What Is the Penalty for a Third Offense DUI?
- Imprisonment lasting up to three years
- Fines up to $5,000
- Driver’s license suspended for a minimum of one year
- Participation in the ignition interlock program for three years once driver’s license suspension is lifted
Having experienced Berkeley County legal representative on one's side may prove invaluable. With the right help, those accused of multiple DUIs can fight the charges at hand or seek to have charges reduced in hopes of minimizing associated penalties.
How Can You Be Charged With Multiple DUIs?
To be charged with a third DUI offense, a driver will need to have already been convicted of driving while impaired on two occasions within a 10-year period. If a new charge comes after the 10-year period has expired, it is not likely to be counted as a subsequent offense and not considered a felony unless other factors of the current incident make a felony charge possible.
As this can all be rather confusing, one's legal counsel can address any concerns and answer any questions one might have regarding how the severity of DUI charges is determined.
Offering Free Consultations
A best-case scenario for your charges would be a dismissal of your case. However, this is not always possible. Our priority lies in protecting your rights through the criminal defense process, and in keeping you educated and informed every step of the way. Our DUI attorneys in Martinsburg are committed to being timely with our responses, honest in our evaluation, and relentless in the protection of your rights. With our help, you may be also able to pursue a reinstatement of your license after it has been suspended.
Discover your options for your repeat DUI charges by contacting our Berkeley County criminal defense lawyers today at (304) 867-0049.
Your Experience MattersOur Current & Past Clients Share Their Experience
“Chris Janelle came through for me at a time when I REALLY needed an ally in my corner.”- John B.
“Fabulous people and good at what they do.”- Dena L.
“I felt very confident and relieved and retained them immediately with no regrets.”- Shannon S.
“I highly recommend Chris and his staff when you are looking for someone to assist with those difficult Legal times.”- Mike C.
“Mark is the best attorney.”- Barbara S.
Stay Up To Date & Read Our Blogs
Can I Lose My Job if I’m Convicted of DUI in West Virginia?Drunk Driving Charges, DUI, Felony DUI, Penalties
What Happens When You Get Multiple DUIs in West Virginia?Drivers License Suspension Or Revocation, Drunk Driving Charges, DUI, Felony DUI, License Suspension, Multiple Offenses, Penalties
How Long Do You Have to Be Separated Before Getting a Divorce in West Virginia?Divorce