Underage DUIAre You Facing a DUI?
Berkeley County Underage DUI Attorney
Providing Compassionate & Knowledgeable Counsel
Being charged with driving under the influence (DUI) can be a terrifying experience, especially if you are under the legal drinking age of 21. In West Virginia, if you are under 21 and caught driving with any trace of alcohol in your system, you will be charged with a DUI. Consequently, you will face the same penalties as someone who is over 21, including fines, jail time, and a license suspension.
At Sutton & Janelle, PLLC, we understand how overwhelming this situation can be, which is why our Berkeley County underage DUI lawyers are here to provide you with the compassionate, yet aggressive legal counsel you need. We will walk you through the entire process, help you understand your available options, and work to build a strong defense strategy on your behalf.
What Is the Legal Alcohol Limit for Someone Under 21?
As mentioned above, if you are under 21 and are found to have any trace of alcohol in your system while operating a vehicle, you will be charged with a DUI. This is because West Virginia has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving. Even if you are under the legal drinking age and have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02%, you can be charged with a DUI. For reference, a BAC of .02% is the equivalent of consuming one alcoholic drink.
It is important to note that, unlike the standard DUI charge, an underage DUI does not require that the prosecution prove you were “under the influence” of alcohol. Instead, the prosecution merely needs to prove that you had any trace of alcohol in your system.
What Are the Penalties for an Underage DUI in West Virginia?
As mentioned earlier, the penalties for an underage DUI are the same as they are for a standard DUI charge. However, it is important to note that, if you are under 21, you are not eligible for a probationary driver’s license, regardless of the circumstances surrounding your arrest. This means that your license will be suspended for a minimum of 30 days and you will not be able to apply for a reinstatement until that period has passed.
Other penalties for an underage DUI conviction include:
- Fines ranging from $100 to $500
- Between 2 days and 6 months in jail
- Required participation in the state’s Alcohol Safety and Action Program (ASAP)
- Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID)
- Community service
How Can I Defend Myself Against Underage DUI Charges?
Just because you were charged with an underage DUI does not mean you will automatically be convicted. In fact, our underage DUI lawyers in West Virginia can help you fight your charges. We will review your case, evaluate the evidence against you, and help you determine the best possible defense strategy. Our team is not afraid to go to court, and we will aggressively advocate for your rights and fight for a favorable outcome on your behalf.
Experienced Legal Advocacy You Can Trust
At Sutton & Janelle, PLLC, we are dedicated to helping you navigate the legal process. Our Berkeley County DUI defense attorneys have a comprehensive understanding of this area of law and can help you understand your available options. We will work to build a strong defense strategy for you. You can rely on us to provide you with the effective and personalized legal representation you deserve.
“Chris Janelle came through for me at a time when I REALLY needed an ally in my corner.”- John B.
“Fabulous people and good at what they do.”- Dena L.
“I felt very confident and relieved and retained them immediately with no regrets.”- Shannon S.
“I highly recommend Chris and his staff when you are looking for someone to assist with those difficult Legal times.”- Mike C.
“Mark is the best attorney.”- Barbara S.
Underage DUI: What Happens if My Child Is Arrested for DUI in West Virginia?Convictions, Drivers License Suspension Or Revocation, Drunk Driving Charges, DUI, Legal Limit, License Suspension, Penalties
How Do I Get My Driver’s License Reinstated After a DUI in West Virginia?Breath Test, Breath Test Refusal, Convictions, Drivers License Suspension Or Revocation, Drunk Driving Charges, DUI, Felony DUI, Field Sobriety Tests, Legal Limit, License Suspension
Divorce Tips: How to Properly Communicate with Your Co-ParentChild Custody, Divorce